Statutes of limitations are actually laws and regulations enacted by the federal government as well as local governments.
These types of laws set the the highest possible time after an incident inside which legal proceedings may be initiated.
The Utah statutes (laws) of limitations are Utah Code § 78B-2-101 et seq.
Unlawful discharge incidents typically see 3 types of claims, with each falling under unique statute of limitations. Being aware of the following time restraints is very important, as legal action might be denied if started later.
Statute of limitations by type of claim
Utah state regulation establishes the statute of limitations on filing tort (personal injury) claims, for instance defamation, firing in violation of public policy or intentional infliction of emotional distress.
- Tort claims: 4 years
In the state of Utah, the statute of limitations on contractual claims is defined by the state government. The cutoff dates for written contracts & oral contracts can diverge.
- Oral contracts: 4 years
- Written contracts: 6 years
Federal law establishes the statute of limitations on work discrimination cases, like pregnancy, constructive discharge or sexual orientation discrimination.
- 180 days to file with EEOC
- 300 days if Utah law prohibits the discrimination as well
Were you wrongfully discharged?
Our site provides resources to help you remedy the wrongdoing.
What exact amounts do wrongful discharge claims settle for? Browse wrongful discharge litigation cases & settlements from Utah >>
To see if you have a claim, visit the most common wrongful discharge reasons >>
Even though employment-at-will is the prevailing form of employment in the USA, there are laws to protect employees against unjust discrimination and harassment.
WrongfulTerminationSettlements.com was created as a compass for people who feel they have been terminated wrongfully, or discriminated against at their workplace.