Statute of limitations laws and regulations set the highest possible time period someone has to start proceedings from the calendar day of a claimed breach of law. Such laws are brought by state bodies and/or the United States government.
Unlawful discharge cases typically see 3 kinds of claims. Each one has unique statute of limitations. Knowing these time limits is critical, for the reason that a lawsuit might be denied if commenced afterwards.
The Minnesota statutes (laws) of limitations are Minnesota Statutes § 541.01 et seq.
Statute of limitations by type of claim
In the state of Minnesota, the statute of limitations on contractual cases is defined by the local government. The cutoff dates for oral contracts & written contracts can differ.
- Oral contracts: 6 years
- Written contracts: 6 years
Minnesota local regulation determines the statute of limitations on submitting tort (personal injury) claims, for instance defamation or intentional infliction of emotional distress.
- Tort claims: 2 years
National law sets the statute of limitations on workplace discrimination claims, like age discrimination, sexual orientation discrimination or constructive discharge.
- 180 days to file with EEOC
- 300 days if Minnesota law prohibits the discrimination as well
Were you wrongfully discharged?
WrongfulTerminationSettlements.com is bound to have resources to guide you to remedy the wrongdoing.
To see if you have a case, visit the most frequent wrongful firing reasons >>
How much could your own case be worth? Take a look at wrongful termination litigation cases together with settlements from Minnesota >>
Even though employment-at-will is the prevailing form of employment in the USA, there are laws to protect employees against unjust discrimination and harassment.
WrongfulTerminationSettlements.com was created as a compass for people who feel they have been terminated wrongfully, or discriminated against at their workplace.