National regulations and state laws define the length of time an individual can file suit following an offense. Such deadlines are specified by laws and regulations known as statutes of limitations.
The Oregon statutes (laws) of limitations are Oregon Revised Statutes § 12.010 et seq.
Wrongful discharge incidents normally see three types of claims, with each one having unique statute of limitations. Being conscious of all time limitations is very important, since a lawsuit is likely to be denied if begun at a later time.
Statute of limitations by type of claim
Oregon state law determines the statute of limitations on filing tort (personal injury) claims, including firing in violation of public policy, intentional infliction of emotional distress or defamation.
- Tort claims: 2 years
In the state of Oregon, the statute of limitations on contractual complaints is determined by the local government. The deadlines for oral contracts and written contracts can differ.
- Oral contracts: 6 years
- Written contracts: 6 years
Federal legislation establishes the statute of limitations on employment discrimination claims, such as pregnancy, constructive discharge, workplace retaliation, age discrimination or gender discrimination.
- 180 days to file with EEOC
- 300 days if Oregon law prohibits the discrimination as well
Were you wrongfully terminated?
Our website contains information to make it easier to resolve the issue.
About how much will your very own case be worth? Check out wrongful firing litigation cases together with settlements from Oregon >>
To find out if you have a case, take a look at the most common wrongful termination causes >>
Even though employment-at-will is the prevailing form of employment in the USA, there are laws to protect employees against unjust discrimination and harassment.
WrongfulTerminationSettlements.com was created as a compass for people who feel they have been terminated wrongfully, or discriminated against at their workplace.