Statutes of limitations are actually restrictions enacted by the united states government in addition to state legislative bodies.
All of these laws establish the the highest possible period of time after an event within which proceedings may be initiated.
The New Mexico statutes (laws) of limitations are the New Mexico Statutes § 37-1-1 et seq.
Wrongful termination incidents usually see 3 types of claims. Each has unique statute of limitations. Being conscious of these time limits is very important, seeing that litigation might be dismissed if initiated later.
Statute of limitations by type of claim
Federal law sets the statute of limitations on employment discrimination claims, including sexual orientation discrimination, age discrimination, race, color, national origin, religion discrimination or constructive discharge.
- 180 days to file with EEOC
- 300 days if New Mexico law prohibits the discrimination as well
In the state of New Mexico, the statute of limitations on contractual claims is laid by the state. The deadlines for oral contracts & written contracts can diverge.
- Oral contracts: 4 years
- Written contracts: 6 years
New Mexico state legislation establishes the statute of limitations on submitting tort (personal injury) claims, including premeditated infliction of emotional distress or discharge in violation of public policy.
- Tort claims: 3 years
Have you been wrongfully dismissed?
Our site is bound to have resources to teach you how to remedy the wrongdoing.
How much money would your own case be worth? Read up on wrongful dismissal court cases plus verdicts from New Mexico >>
To see if you have a valid case, evaluate the most typical wrongful firing causes >>
Even though employment-at-will is the prevailing form of employment in the USA, there are laws to protect employees against unjust discrimination and harassment.
WrongfulTerminationSettlements.com was created as a compass for people who feel they have been terminated wrongfully, or discriminated against at their workplace.