Statute of limitations are laws and regulations passed by the government and local legislative bodies. These types of laws and regulations establish the maximum time period following an incident within which legal proceedings may be initiated.
Unlawful termination incidents generally see 3 types of claims, with each having different statute of limitations. Knowing the following time restrictions is significant, due to the fact that a lawsuit can be dismissed if begun afterwards.
The New Hampshire statutes (laws) of limitations are New Hampshire Revised Statutes § 508:1 et seq.
Statute of limitations by type of claim
In New Hampshire, the statute of limitations on contractual cases is determined by the local government. The cutoff dates for oral contracts and written contracts can diverge.
- Oral contracts: 3 years
- Written contracts: 3 years
New Hampshire state law sets the statute of limitations on filing tort (personal injury) claims, for example termination in violation of public policy or defamation.
- Tort claims: 3 years
Federal government legislation establishes the statute of limitations on employment discrimination claims, for instance disability, pregnancy or sexual orientation discrimination.
- 180 days to file with EEOC
- 300 days if New Hampshire law prohibits the discrimination as well
Did you get wrongfully terminated?
Our blog contains information to show you how to remedy the matter.
To determine if you have a valid claim, take a look at the most typical wrongful termination causes >>
Exactly what amounts do wrongful termination lawsuits settle for? Have a look at wrongful termination lawsuits and verdicts from New Hampshire >>
Even though employment-at-will is the prevailing form of employment in the USA, there are laws to protect employees against unjust discrimination and harassment.
WrongfulTerminationSettlements.com was created as a compass for people who feel they have been terminated wrongfully, or discriminated against at their workplace.