National laws and also state legislation define how many years a person can file a lawsuit after an offense.
Wrongful discharge incidents normally have 3 types of claims, each falling under separate statute of limitations. Being aware of the time constraints is crucial, since litigation is likely to be dismissed if initiated afterwards.
The Kansas statute (law) of limitations is Kansas Statute § 60-501 et seq.
Statute of limitations by type of claim
Kansas local law determines the statute of limitations on filing tort (personal injury) claims, for instance premeditated infliction of emotional distress, termination in violation of public policy or defamation.
- Tort claims: 2 years
National law establishes the statute of limitations on work discrimination lawsuits, for example disability, constructive discharge, workplace retaliation or pregnancy.
- 180 days to file with EEOC
- 300 days if Kansas law prohibits the discrimination as well
In the state of Kansas, the statute of limitations on contractual claims is laid by the local government. The deadlines for written contracts and oral contracts may differ.
- Oral contracts: 3 years
- Written contracts: 5 years
Did you get wrongfully terminated?
Our site has resources to guide you to rectify the matter.
To find out if you have a valid claim, have a look at the most typical wrongful firing causes >>
How much money will your lawsuit be worth? Take a look at wrongful termination litigation cases as well as verdicts from Kansas >>
Even though employment-at-will is the prevailing form of employment in the USA, there are laws to protect employees against unjust discrimination and harassment.
WrongfulTerminationSettlements.com was created as a compass for people who feel they have been terminated wrongfully, or discriminated against at their workplace.