Are you wondering how much time there is to sue an employer after wrongful termination takes place?
The statute of limitations is the law that sets the time-frame, or time limit a person has to file a lawsuit on a claim. Being aware of the statute of limitations on wrongful termination cases is very important, since if you run out of the allotted time to sue, your case might be thrown out of court.
What are the statutes of limitations for wrongful terminations cases?
State and federal law provide the statutes of limitations on employment claims. Generally speaking, there are 3 types of claims: contractual claims, tort claims, discrimination claims.
Each type of claim will have different deadlines for filing a lawsuit against an employer.
The statue of limitations for filing claims on breach of contract is enacted through state law. Two types of contracts can be differentiated:
- written contracts
- oral contracts
The deadline for filing oral contract claims is generally shorter, since such cases rely on the recollection of the parties.
Please see the table below for each state’s statute of limitations on filing contractual claims.
Tort (personal injury) claims
Personal injury claims within the context of wrongful termination refer to events such as:
- firing in violation of public policy
- intentional infliction of emotional distress
State law provides the statue of limitations on tort claims.
Please see the table below for each state’s deadlines on filing tort claims.
Federal law stipulates that discrimination charges in violation of the following laws must be filed with the EEOC within 180 days of the event taking place:
- Title VII
- Age Discrimination Act
- Americans with Disabilities Act
- Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act
If local law prohibits the same type of discrimination as well, the deadline is extended to 300 days.
After the EEOC issues a right to sue letter, the person has 90 days to file a lawsuit.
Wrongful termination statutes of limitations by state
Below you will find a table of the deadlines to file wrongful discharge claims on tort and contract claims for every US state. Each value is given in years.
We make every effort to keep this table updated, but please note that we are not responsible for any inaccuracies. You need to check your state’s valid legislation for the time limits and to understand how each deadline works. Also, know that filing a lawsuit against government entities may be different.
Please seek legal council with your claim, as interpreting the laws and deadlines is difficult. Remember that if you run out of time to file a lawsuit, you risk getting your case thrown out of court without a proper hearing.
|State||Oral contract||Written contract||Tort||Statute|
Ala. Code § 6-2-30 et seq.
Alaska Stat. § 09.10.010 et seq.
Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 12-541 et seq.
Ark. Code Ann. § 16-56-101 et seq.
Cal. Civ. Proc. Code § 312 et seq.
|Colorado||3 (2 tortious breach)||3 (2 tortious breach)||2||
Colo. Rev. Stat. § 13-80-101 et seq.
Conn. Gen. Stat. § 52-575 et seq.
Del. Code Ann. tit. 10, § 8101 et seq.
|District of Columbia||3||3||3||
D.C. Code § 12-301 et seq.
Fla. Stat. Ann. § 95.011 et seq.
Ga. Code Ann. § 9-3-20 et seq.
Haw. Rev. Stat. § 657-1 et seq.
Idaho Code § 5-201 et seq.
735 Ill. Comp. Stat. 5/13-201 et seq.
Ind. Code Ann. § 34-11-2-1 et seq.
Iowa Code Ann. § 614.1 et seq.
Kan. Stat. Ann. § 60-501 et seq.
|Kentucky||5||10 (15 for contracts dated July 15, 2014 and before)||1||
Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 413.080 et seq.
La. civil code § 3492 et seq.
Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 14, § 751 et seq.
Md. Courts & Jud. Proc. Code Ann. § 5-101 et seq.
Mass. Ann. Laws ch. 260, § 1 et seq.
Mich. Comp. Laws § 600.5801 et seq.
Minn. Stat. Ann. § 541.01 et seq.
Miss. Code. Ann. § 15-1-1 et seq.
|Missouri||5||10 (for payment of money 5)||5||
Mo. Rev. Stat. § 516.097 et seq.
Mont. Code Ann. § 27-2-202 et seq.
Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-201 et seq.
Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 11.010 et seq.
N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 508:1 et seq.
N.J. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 2a:14-1 et seq.
N.M. Stat. Ann. § 37-1-1 et seq.
N.Y. Civ. Prac. Laws & Rules § 201 et seq.
N.C. Gen. Stat. § 1-46 et seq.
N.D. Cent. Code § 28-01-01 et seq.
Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2305.03 et seq.
Okla. Stat. Ann. tit. 12, § 91 et seq.
Or. Rev. Stat. § 12.010 et seq.
Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. tit. 42, § 5501 et seq.
R. I. Gen. Laws § 9-1-12 et seq.
S.C. Code Ann. § 15-3-510 et seq.
S.D. Codified Laws Ann. § 15-2-1 et seq.
Tenn. Code Ann. § 28-3-101 et seq.
Tex. Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code § 16.001 et seq.
Utah Code Ann. § 78B-2-101 et seq.
Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 12, chap.23 § 461 et seq.
Va. Code Ann. § 8.01-228 et seq.
Wash. Rev. Code Ann. § 4.16.005 et seq.
W. Va. Code § 55-2-1 et seq.
Wis. Stat. Ann. § 893.01 et seq.
Wyo. Stat. § 1-3-102 et seq.